Christmas Baking

For someone that loves baking, beginning to bake gluten free was a hassle. Nothing ever goes according to plan when you’re trying to convert a recipe, either. That is why I’ve begun to bake some gluten free and vegan concoctions now and freezing them if they prove successful. I began this adventure by baking sugar cookies, which have always been one of my favorites. The dough was perfect! It even rolled out well, too. Maybe I’m getting the hang of this after all? Well unfortunately, I forgot to check my stock of cookie cutters and found a whale. Not a Santa, or a bell, or a reindeer, but a whale. I apparently forgot a handful of things at my parents’ house when we moved. I remember the day that Zack and I bought the whale cookie cutter. It was so cute and playful! I loved it. But for Christmas? Eh, what the hey! I already look like a weirdo pedaling my cooler bag of “special” food from relative to relative’s home, so why not a batch of whale cookies?! I stated to Zack that it can be the new Christmas tradition. The Christmas whale!

20131218-201413.jpg

They are actually quite tasty and I was proud that they were so successful. The recipe is from Sarah Bakes gluten free and is as follows:

Gluten Free Vegan Sugar Cookies
2 1/2 cups gluten free flour mix (I used Better Batter, which already contains xanthan gum)
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk at room temperature
2 tsp vanilla

In a bowl, mix flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

In bowl of stand mixer, beat sugar, coconut oil, non-dairy milk and vanilla.

Gradually add flour mix and continue to mix until blended.

Form dough into patty, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 10-15 minutes.

Roll dough on double-layered parchment or plastic wrap and cut into desired shapes.

Bake for 7-8 minutes (although mine cooked much faster due to my cookie sheets, so watch closely).

Once done, place on cooling rack and frost and sprinkle if desired (I used Let’s Do…Organic Sprinklez)

I’m thankful to have experienced a successful recipe before proceeding to less successful recipes. It’s challenging determining if a flax “egg” or an egg replacer will be most successful, so I’ve been toying around with a few varieties. Hopefully before Christmas, I can modify some other favorites to place beside the Christmas whales on my cookie tray.

Leave a Reply

